(no subject)
Jul. 23rd, 2005 09:44 amEnough lurking... I'll actually post...
Meh... I was rather blah about this episode. Love the Vala snark, wish Cameron had been in it more, the new Dr/Landry thing didn't interest me in the least (although I'm willing to give the new doc a chance because I like Lexa Doig for some reason) and everyone else was just kinda... meh. Hmm... hopefully this season will pick up once it has stopped with the "we just can't find it in ourselves to actually conclude an episode..." Hmm...
I love the characters on this show... it's why I watch it. The stories are usually... bleh, but I love the characters. But this episode was overall kinda... meh as well... I'm hoping the season will pick up once they start establishing an arc for the season, which from the previews, will hopefully happen soon.
I was completely slayed by this episode... I jumped at several moments, the intensity was so high, and I'm so devoted to all the characters, from major cast to the supporting characters, that I was really into that hour of television...
My favorite bit of this episode has to be Kara's monologue and apartment. Not only did Katee give an amazing performance but from the paintings, to the music playing, to the batteries instead of paying bills, to the cigars that she sat and relished, the old jacket with paint on the cuffs, to her humvee truck... this just gave a beautiful and incredibly detailed snap shot of Kara in an incredibly short amount of time... Wonderful.
And Lee... favorite bits: the kissing of his father on the forehead... being a party pooper when the nuggets were all high off their "success"... his "maybe I never was" fit to wear his uniform...
But most of all, the stark fear that we could see in his face and manner and voice... he wasn't pretending to be some all knowing hero who doesn't even blink when it comes to defeating the bad guy... no Lee was scared (and they gave us good reason as to why he should be) and he still pulled through in the end. Great performance by Jamie and awesome writing.
The writing is always top notch, which is soemthing that can always be appreciated...
Didn't really like the bit with Roslin's jacket having holes in it... but I'm willing to see where they go with that.
Billy/Dualla... give a big "aww" that was just so cute.
Tyrol and Cally... jeez... I love these two.
And I have more thoughts, but I think everyone else already hashed those out... Great episode overall, I think it outdid the premiere of this season... which met my expectations but didn't exceed them like "33" did... But then this episode comes along and restores my hope that we haven't seen everything yet and they haven't lost that flair for dramatic tension.